Tasty Lentil Spinach Stew Recipe

I got this recipe from this really cool food blog called Jaime’s Kitchen. I have made this soup on numerous occasions. I find this recipe easy and tasty. I like to cook it on Sunday so I can take it to school for the next few days. This recipe serves 7 people but I usuallyuse half the ingredients in the recipe  because I’m the only person in my house that eats soup. The name of the recipe is called Lentil spinach stew but once you taste it you’ll understand why I added the tasty part!

Ingredients:

 

  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 1 medium onion chopped (1/2 a cup)
  • 1 tablespoon oil (I used olive oil)
  • 1 cup dry lentils
  • 4 cups vegetable broth (or 4 cups + 4 tsp vegetable bouillon)
  • 10 oz frozen spinach
  • 7.5 oz can of chopped/diced tomatoes (I used the can with jalapeños)
  • 1 bay leaf
  • ½ tsp salt
  • ½ tsp thyme
  • ½ tsp fennel seeds, crushed
  • ¼ tsp pepper
  • 1 tb. Worcester sauce
  • 1 tb. Balsamic vinegar
  • 2 medium carrots, diced (1 cup)

 

Cooking Instructions:

 

Chop garlic cloves and chop onion. Heat oil in large saucepan or dutch oven. Heat onions and garlic in oil until they are caramelized. Add dry lentils, broth, tomatoes, salt, pepper, thyme, bay leaf, and fennel seeds. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat, cover, and simmer for 15-20 minutes. Add frozen spinach and carrots. Bring to a boil again. Break apart frozen spinach with a fork as needed. Reduce heat, cover, and simmer another 10-15 minutes until lentils and carrots are tender. Remove bay leaf. Stir in vinegar and Worcester sauce.

Serve hot! Enjoy!!!!!

Leave a Reply

